A Cultural Attack on Biblical Marriage


wedding-ring-handsHat’s off to Miss California, Carrie Prejean.  At a time it would have been easy to give a politically correct response to her pageant question; she stood up for her values and supported the definition of marriage being between a man and a woman.  It is troubling that standing up for Biblical values is somehow now politically incorrect or beyond that, even offensive.  A slow erosion of American society’s expectations for a Biblical standard for behavior has led to many small compromises along the way so we can all “just get along.”  As Christians, are supposed to love one another.  This has been twisted over time into total acceptance of this behavior.  We now have “rights” for what used to be called sin.

Don’t get me wrong.  I don’t hate anyone.  I can love my fellow man without accepting behavior that is self destructive to both themselves and to others around them.  Since the relationship we have with God is like that between a father and a child, if we don’t have that model in our lives anywhere how skewed will our view of any relationship with The Father be?

In Revelations 3:15-21, the Church in Laodicea is warned about being neither hot nor cold and because they are lukewarm, God will spit them out.

15 “‘I know your works: you are neither cold nor hot. Would that you were either cold or hot! 16 So, because you are lukewarm, and neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of my mouth. 17 For you say, I am rich, I have prospered, and I need nothing, not realizing that you are wretched, pitiable, poor, blind, and naked. 18 I counsel you to buy from me gold refined by fire, so that you may be rich, and white garments so that you may clothe yourself and the shame of your nakedness may not be seen, and salve to anoint your eyes, so that you may see. 19 Those whom I love, I reprove and discipline, so be zealous and repent. 20 Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with me. 21 The one who conquers, I will grant him to sit with me on my throne, as I also conquered and sat down with my Father on his throne.  (ESV Online)

We now live in a time where it is imperative to choose this day who you will serve.  Our efforts to be tolerant in the name of Christianity have made us luke warm. Each of us is faced with the decision to get along and say nothing about the deterioration of our values or to risk personal consequences for standing up for what we believe.  What do you believe?

4 Comments

Filed under Faith, Love

4 responses to “A Cultural Attack on Biblical Marriage

  1. Pingback: I Do, Except the Obey Part! « Cari V. Ray

  2. Pingback: Raising Kids in an Amoral Age « Cari V. Ray

  3. johnsned

    I am drawn to your comments. Unfortunately it is late.
    There is much to be said about the slow erosion of faith in society. Seldom are cultural changes accomplished through overt and sudden events.
    (Although some would say that the atomic bomb did change Japan rather suddenly!)

    Our culture today worships the crashing waves of the extream, while ignoring the slow current of cold water at our feet that saps our strength until we can no longer resist.

    Most cultures do not disappear due to outside influences, but rather consume themselves from the inside.

    Thank you for your thoughts. I will return to read your other posts at a more-rested time.
    J

Leave a Reply

