Traditional Marriage – Honor


DSC00665As part of our wedding vows, we promise to love, honor and cherish.  What does it mean to honor your spouse?  How we speak about your spouse to others says a lot.  Do you spend your time griping about those things that aren’t perfect?  Or, do you honor them with your words?  By that I mean can anyone say that you’ve said anything derogatory, anything that implies you don’t respect them, anything that belittles them?  Even if you do have a problem brewing between you and your spouse, do you complain to others and possibly damage their relationship with your spouse in the process? Every time we cross the line and show the world what’s not so good about the person we’ve vowed to share our lives with, we are not holding up our end of the bargain.  We are not honoring them.

I honor my husband by keeping the chinks in his armor to myself.  I am supposed to be his ally so telling where his weaknesses are does not honor him.  No matter how great the infraction, I will not tell others how he failed; it would not honor him.  I only speak to others the words that lift him up and show the world how wonderful he is.  I’m not lying to myself or other people when I do this.  I’m using discretion about what I share so that I present my husband in the best possible light.  Wouldn’t you want the same?  Wouldn’t you want the person who knows whether or not you drool in your sleep to choose not to ridicule you to others?  Honoring your spouse is a key ingredient to a wonderful, fulfilling marriage.  That’s not to say you won’t ever disagree.  Just choose carefully when, where and how you’ll express your opinion.

Also, when you honor your spouse, you remind yourself of all of the good qualities that brought you both together in the first place.  People fail, that’s just part of being human.  When they do, it is much easier to forgive if you can remember why you loved them in the first place.  Do you honor  your spouse?

Related Posts:

I Do, Except For The Obey Part!

A Cultural Attack On Biblical Marriage

1 Comment

Filed under Love

One response to “Traditional Marriage – Honor

  1. Pingback: I Do, Except the Obey Part! « Cari V. Ray

Leave a Reply

